Happiness Project-Do you participate in the Challenge?

Recently I stumbled upon this site and instantly felt as if someone pulled some of my ideas and experiences out of my head, filled the missing gaps, put them in to perfect order and wrapped it up in some fancy gift wrap paper!
This amazing site-Action for Happiness-points out the 10 Keys to a happier life which are based on the latest scientific research relating to happiness.

First, I was sceptical since I’ve read a lot of blogs and seen many TED talks about happiness, for example this one which is my favorite:

http://www.ted.com/talks/nic_marks_the_happy_planet_index.html

and although I’m very engaged in this topic and the question: “What makes us happy and how can we build a society that promotes happiness?” , I haven’t found a source yet which was able to put it in a nutshell like this site did.

The first five keys relate to how we interact with the outside world in our daily activities. The second five keys come more from inside us and depend on our attitude to life. The short version is below, the extented one with detailed information can be found on their site:

GIVING
Do things for others
RELATING
Connect with people
EXERCISING
Take care of your body
APPRECIATING
Notice the world around
TRYING OUT
Keep learning new things
DIRECTION
Have goals to look forward to
RESILIENCE
Find ways to bounce back
MOTION
Take a positive approach
ACCEPTANCE
Be comfortable with who you are
MEANING
Be part of something bigger
Some, but not all of the points are already part of my value system but they need to be practiced every day just like any kind of sport, instrument or language. Therefore, I decided to do more for my happiness and see how far these key points can take me when I practice them deliberatly every day.
How practical that the site also provides a plan: http://www.actionforhappiness.org/media/80216/happiness_action_pack.pdf
Day one starts tomorrow and I’m excited to see the progress…who will join me and share their experiences?
Leave a Reply

