Information Hunters-Do you care about what you read? How to achieve a high return on reading investment

What our generation really have in abundance is a huge amount of informations and a seemingly endless access to it. With so many valuable articles (and hereby I don’t talk about bullshit-bla-bla content), it’s hard to keep all the interesting and inspiring infos in our heads and it’s even harder to apply them in our daily lives. What happens is that we end up reading a lot of clever advice but when we face situations where we can apply them, we no longer remember them or are just not aware enough to recognize the link to what we read.

How can we change that?

I try to answer the following questions when grasp new information:

  1. Does this really teach me anything new and valuable? (If not, leave the ship!)
  2. How can I apply insights from what I read in the couple of days? (Wait and you forget)
  3. Have I already applied the ideas from this article at some point? Where have I not, but could have? (How would this have changed the situation?)

These questions always help me to get more out of the articles I read. The most obvious advantage I experienced while applying this technique was when I read Joe Navarro’s “What Every BODY is Saying: An Ex-FBI Agent’s Guide to Speed-Reading People”. When I read the book I always had examples from my past in my mind and how I can apply the things he describes in my daily life. Situational awareness and obeservation did the learn a great deal about body language- a high return on investment!

How do you apply what you’re reading?

One thought on “Information Hunters-Do you care about what you read? How to achieve a high return on reading investment

Leave a Reply

